Meadville, Oil City Receive Safety Honors

July 2, 2019

Penelec presented the President’s Safety Excellence Award to employees in the following districts:

  • Meadville – for working three years without an OSHA-recordable incident. There are 25 employees in the group.
  • Oil City – for achieving one year of OSHA-free work. Forty-six employees are based in the district.

Members of the group were recognized at a breakfast event. “It was great to celebrate such wonderful safety accomplishments so soon after being named regional president of Penelec,” said Nick Austin. “The pride, teamwork and comradery of both district shops was evident in the room. These qualities will continue to help the district shops work safely in the months and years to come.”

Bargaining-unit employees in the Meadville and Oil City districts are represented by International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 459.

Meadville District

Oil City District