WATCH NOW: FirstEnergy Scores Big Win Partnering with IBEW

On hand for the Edwin Hill award presentation at the LAMPAC meeting are (l. to r.): Tom Kuhn, EEI president; Brad Goetz, business manager, IBEW Local 1413; Mike Dowling, senior vice president, External Affairs; Larry Tscherne, business manager and financial secretary, IBEW Local 245; Steve Crum, IBEW Fourth District​; Lonnie Stephenson, IBEW international president; and Nick Akins, American Electric Power chairman, president and CEO.

March 24, 2020

Labor and management working together to create meaningful state policies that benefit customers. This is the mission of the Labor and Management Public Affairs Committee (LAMPAC), in which FirstEnergy proudly participates.

At FirstEnergy, collaborating with our union representatives – like the International Brotherhood of Electric Workers (IBEW) – is essential to building a strong, united workforce and ensuring clean, reliable and affordable electricity is always available to our local communities. This partnership has worked tirelessly to advocate for policy changes that create job stability, support local economies and improve grid reliability – and these efforts have garnered the attention of our peers.

Earlier this month, FirstEnergy and IBEW Fourth District Locals 245 and 1413 received the Edwin D. Hill award at LAMPAC’s 2020 national meeting in recognition of our shared advocacy work and the vital union partnerships we support in Ohio.

Watch the video to get an inside look at the event and learn more about the powerful meaning associated with this honor, recognized as a gold standard in our industry.